UNISSAHEL in Senegal

Contexte

In Senegal, in 2006, the strategic document for the fight against poverty DSRPII (2006-2010) was associated with a National Social Protection Strategy 2005-2015. A Strategy for the Extension of Health Risk Coverage was drawn up from 2008. The national health development plan (PNDS 2009-2018) recommended the acceleration of its implementation.

In a context of advocacy by technical and financial partners for the establishment of health insurance systems in the countries of the South, the President of the Republic of Senegal has granted significant funding for the establishment of Universal Health Coverage (UHC) which constitutes a major axis of the Emerging Senegal Plan. Until 2012, nearly 80% of the Senegalese population did not have access to a health coverage system. In 2013, the Universal Health Coverage Insurance Unit (CACMU) was set up. The "CMU agency" (http://agencecmu.sn/ ) is one of the pillars of this strategy.

A Strategic Plan for the Development of Health Coverage (PSD-CMU) 2013-2017 which aimed at 75% of population coverage by 2017 was developed around the following axes:

  • Development of basic UHC through mutual health insurance;

  • Reform of compulsory health insurance and organization and functioning of the Health Provident Institutions (IPM);

  • Strengthening of existing health fees exemption policies (sesame plan, caesarean section, dialysis, etc.);

  • Initiative free care for children 0- 5 years

Mutuals

The CACMU provided for the registration of each citizen in a mutual health insurance to benefit from low cost support and / or to participate in the financing of the care of other citizens. Two types of subsidies have been set up:

  • A partial subsidy for which the beneficiary adheres to CFAF 1,000 and contributes to CFAF 3,500 and the State subsidizes CFAF 3,500, for a total amount of CFAF 7,000 per year.

  • A targeted subsidy for specific categories (disabled, indigent) for which the State pays membership at 1000 FCFA, photos at 250 FCFA per person, the annual membership fee at 7000 FCFA and the user fee at 2000 FCFA.

At the level of huts, posts and health centers, members of mutual insurance companies benefit from an 80% subsidy except for specialized services subsidized at 50%. At the hospital level, members benefit from a 50% subsidy except for medical interventions and hospitalizations for 7 days are covered at 100%.

Health fees exemption policies

All the free initiatives have been grouped under the term medical assistance, and concern the areas below:

  • Free care for children under 5: the care package offered, according to the health pyramid, concerns: At the post and health center level: consultation tickets, generic drugs, vaccination tickets and subsistence costs in the event of hospitalization; In hospitals: emergency consultation tickets and consultation tickets for referred cases. However, additional examinations (analyzes, x-rays) are excluded.

  • Caesarean sections for a flat rate of 85,000 FCFA, which includes : biological examinations, the pre-anesthetic visit, related medications and hospitalization for a period of five days.

  • Free renal dialysis since 2013; free hemodialysis sessions in public hospitals and partial subsidy for private dialysis.

  • Support for people aged 60 and over on Sesame Plan. The care package concerns consultations, para-clinical examinations, essential drugs, and hospitalizations in the 3rd category.

  • Medical care for disabled people with the equal opportunity card and beneficiaries of the “National Family Security Scholarships” enrolled in mutual health insurance with a 100% subsidy of the contribution and the co-payment.

UNISSAHEL au Sénégal

Contexte

Au Sénégal, dès 2006, le document stratégique de lutte contre la pauvreté DSRPII (2006-2010) a été associé à une Stratégie nationale de protection sociale 2005-2015. Une Stratégie d’Extension de la Couverture du Risque Maladie (SNECRM) a été élaborée à partir de 2008. Le plan national de développement sanitaire (PNDS 2009-2018) a recommandé l’accélération de sa mise en oeuvre.

Dans un contexte de plaidoyer des Partenaires techniques et financiers pour la mise en place des systèmes d’assurance sanitaire dans les pays du Sud, le Président de la République du Sénégal a octroyé un financement important à la mise en place de la Couverture Maladie Universelle (CMU) qui constitue un axe majeur du Plan Sénégal Émergent (PSE). Jusqu’en 2012, près de 80% de la population sénégalaise n’avait pas accès à un système de couverture maladie. En 2013, la Cellule de l’Assurance Couverture Maladie Universelle (CACMU) a été mise en place. L'agence de de la CMU (http://agencecmu.sn/) est un des piliers de cette stratégie.

Un plan Stratégique de Développement de la Couverture Maladie (PSD-CMU) 2013-2017 qui visait un objectif de 75% de couverture de la population à l’horizon 2017 a été développé autour des axes suivants :

  • Développement de la CMU de base à travers les mutuelles de santé ;

  • Réforme de l’assurance maladie obligatoire et organisation et fonctionnement des Institutions de Prévoyance Maladie(IPM) ;

  • Renforcement des politiques de gratuités existantes (plan sésame, césarienne, dialyse…);

  • Initiative de gratuité des soins pour les enfants de 0- 5ans

Les mutuelles

La CACMU prévoyait l’inscription de chaque citoyen dans une mutuelle de santé pour bénéficier de prise en charge à moindre coût et/ou pour participer au financement des soins des autres citoyens. Deux types de subvention ont été mis en place :

  • Une subvention partielle pour laquelle le bénéficiaire adhère à 1 000 FCFA et cotise à 3 500 FCFA et l’État subventionne à 3500 FCFA, pour un montant total de 7000FCFA par an.

  • Une subvention ciblée pour les catégories particulières (handicapés, indigents) pour lesquelles l’État paie l’adhésion à 1000 FCFA, les photos à 250FCFA par personne, la cotisation annuelle à 7000FCFA et le ticket modérateur à 2000FCFA.

Au niveau des cases, des postes et des centres de santé, les adhérents aux mutuelles bénéficient d’une subvention de 80% sauf pour les services spécialisés subventionnés à 50%. Au niveau des hôpitaux, les adhérents bénéficient d’une subvention de 50% sauf pour les interventions médicales et les hospitalisations pendant 7 jours pris en charge à 100%. 

Les gratuités

Toutes les initiatives de gratuité ont été regroupées sous le terme d’assistance médicale, concerne les domaines ci-dessous :

  • Gratuité des soins pour les enfants de moins de 5 ans. Le paquet de soins offert, selon la pyramide sanitaire, concerne : i) au niveau du poste et centre de santé : les tickets de consultation, les médicaments génériques, tickets de vaccination et les frais de séjour en cas d’hospitalisation, ii) au niveau des hôpitaux : les tickets de consultation en urgence et tickets de consultation pour les cas référés. Cependant les examens complémentaires (analyses, les radiographies) sont exclus..

  • Prise en charge des césariennes pour un forfait de 85 000 FCFA qui inclut : les examens biologiques, la visite pré-anesthésique, les médicaments y afférant et l’hospitalisation pour une durée de cinq jours.

  • Gratuité de la dialyse rénale dont les frais sont passé de 50.000 FCFA à 10.000 FCFA pour la séance en 2012 et totalement gratuite depuis 2013 ; gratuité des séances d’hémodialyse dans les hôpitaux publics et de la subvention partielle de la dialyse dans le privé.

  • Prise en charge des personnes âgées de 60 ans et plus ou Plan Sésame. Le paquet de soins concerne les consultations, les examens para cliniques, les médicaments essentiels et les hospitalisations en 3ème catégorie.

  • Prise en charge médicale des personnes handicapées avec la carte d’égalité de chance et des bénéficiaires de la « Bourses Nationale de Sécurité Familiale » enrôlés dans les mutuelles de santé avec une subvention de 100% de la cotisation et du ticket modérateur.

Suivez-nous

  • Twitter
  • YouTube