For further ...

This site aims not only to present the UNISSAHEL program but also to bring together resources on various subjects related to universal health coverage. This is why this page presents different search fields and links and files to go further in their documentation.

Population health intervention research

 

Ressources

Alla, F., & Cambon, L. (2017). Transformation of health systems: Contribution of population health intervention research. The Lancet Public Health, 2(12), e539.

https://doi.org/10.1016/S2468-2667(17)30216-5

Alla, F., & Kivits, J. (2015). La recherche interventionnelle en santé publique: Partenariat chercheurs-acteurs, interdisciplinarité et rôle social. Santé Publique, 27(3), 303–304.

https://doi.org/10.3917/spub.153.0303

Bärnighausen, T. (2017). Population health intervention research: Three important advancements. International Journal of Public Health, 62(8), 841–843.

https://doi.org/10.1007/s00038-017-0985-2

Cambon, L., & Alla, F. (2014). Recherche interventionnelle en santé publique, transfert de connaissances et collaboration entre acteurs, décideurs et chercheurs. Les défis français de l’innovation. Institut de Recherche En Santé Publique, (27).

Hawe, P., & Potvin, L. (2009). What is population health intervention research? Can J Public Health, 100(1), 8–14. https://doi.org/10.17269/cjph.100.1748

Hawe, Penelope, Ruggiero, E. D., & Cohen, E. (2012). Frequently Asked Questions About Population Health Intervention Research. Can J Public Health, 103(6), 468–471. 

https://doi.org/10.17269/cjph.103.3376

INPES. (2013). Recherche interventionnelle en santé publique: Quand chercheur et acteurs de terrain travaillent ensemble. (425). Disponible sur :  http://inpes.santepubliquefrance.fr/SLH/pdf/sante-action-425.pdf

Martin, J., Cheng, D., & Stranges, S. (2017). Population health intervention research: Myths and misconceptions. International Journal of Public Health, 62(8), 845–847. 

https://doi.org/10.1007/s00038-017-0992-3

Potvin, L., Petticrew, M., & Cohen, E. R. M. (2014). Population health intervention research: Developing a much needed science of solutions. Preventive Medicine, 61, 114–115. 

https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ypmed.2014.01.011

Riley, B., Harvey, J., Di Ruggiero, E., & Potvin, L. (2015). Building the field of population health intervention research: The development and use of an initial set of competencies. Preventive Medicine Reports, 2, 854–857. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.pmedr.2015.09.017

The UNISSAHEL program is part of a population health intervention research approach (RISP). This perspective is particularly conceptualized in Anglo-Saxon and North American research but much less in France and West Africa. This type of research consists of producing knowledge about health interventions and policies .

It is sometimes seen as a paradigm shift in that it "seek solutions" rather than focusing on problems , which are already often known.

It is about understanding what ways to intervene: what interventions to choose and how to implement them, while constantly considering the issue of inequalities.

Intervention research in population health is different from action research, evaluation and intervention research in clinical research even if some common points do exist.

This type of research has specificities, especially when the work is done in partnership between several nationalities, several sectors and several disciplines . It also involves a systemic view of public health problems and emphasizes the social determinants of health. Below is a brief presentation of a literature review carried out to identify the definition and characteristics of RISP.

Reflexivity, one of the specificities of RISP. In North-South partnerships, it invites a questioning of ways of doing and of thinking.

Pour mieux comprendre ce que la RISP recouvre : Louise Potvin (Université de Montréal) a réalisé une présentation lors d'un atelier à l'école des hautes études en santé publique.

 

Présentation disponible sur: https://www.ehesp.fr/wp-content/uploads/2011/02/RISP-_-DGS-Paris-12-122.pdf 

Knowledge transfer

 

Knowledge transfer can be defined as "all the efforts made to contribute to publicizing and recognizing the activities and results of research in the social and human sciences, the arts and the literature with a view to their use by educational circles, practices, decision-makers and the general public, whether the process is interactive or not "(FQRSC, 2011).

 

This concern comes from the observation that despite an increasing amount of knowledge produced to improve the health of populations, it is only rarely used to implement effective and relevant interventions. There are several types of knowledge: explicit knowledge which is knowledge resulting from research, evaluations, administrative data and which can be formalized and transmitted; and tacit knowledge which is knowledge resulting from experience and therefore less easy to distribute.

When talking about use, it is important to distinguish three types: 1) Conceptual use which leads to a new understanding of a situation or facts, 2) Instrumental use leading to decision making or action, 3) Persuasive use which is the use of knowledge as arguments to support laws or decisions.

To go further on this subject, find the videos of the RENARD team, specialized on research on knowledge transfer

 

Follow us

  • Twitter
  • YouTube

Pour aller plus loin ...

Ce site a non seulement pour objectif de présenter le programme UNISSAHEL mais aussi de rassembler des ressources sur différents sujets en lien avec la couverture universelle en santé. C'est pourquoi, cette page présente différents champ de recherche et des liens et fichiers pour aller plus loin dans leur documentation.

Recherche interventionnelle en santé des populations

 

Ressources

Alla, F., & Cambon, L. (2017). Transformation of health systems: Contribution of population health intervention research. The Lancet Public Health, 2(12), e539.

https://doi.org/10.1016/S2468-2667(17)30216-5

Alla, F., & Kivits, J. (2015). La recherche interventionnelle en santé publique: Partenariat chercheurs-acteurs, interdisciplinarité et rôle social. Santé Publique, 27(3), 303–304.

https://doi.org/10.3917/spub.153.0303

Bärnighausen, T. (2017). Population health intervention research: Three important advancements. International Journal of Public Health, 62(8), 841–843.

https://doi.org/10.1007/s00038-017-0985-2

Cambon, L., & Alla, F. (2014). Recherche interventionnelle en santé publique, transfert de connaissances et collaboration entre acteurs, décideurs et chercheurs. Les défis français de l’innovation. Institut de Recherche En Santé Publique, (27).

Hawe, P., & Potvin, L. (2009). What is population health intervention research? Can J Public Health, 100(1), 8–14. https://doi.org/10.17269/cjph.100.1748

Hawe, Penelope, Ruggiero, E. D., & Cohen, E. (2012). Frequently Asked Questions About Population Health Intervention Research. Can J Public Health, 103(6), 468–471. 

https://doi.org/10.17269/cjph.103.3376

INPES. (2013). Recherche interventionnelle en santé publique: Quand chercheur et acteurs de terrain travaillent ensemble. (425). Disponible sur :  http://inpes.santepubliquefrance.fr/SLH/pdf/sante-action-425.pdf

Martin, J., Cheng, D., & Stranges, S. (2017). Population health intervention research: Myths and misconceptions. International Journal of Public Health, 62(8), 845–847. 

https://doi.org/10.1007/s00038-017-0992-3

Potvin, L., Petticrew, M., & Cohen, E. R. M. (2014). Population health intervention research: Developing a much needed science of solutions. Preventive Medicine, 61, 114–115. 

https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ypmed.2014.01.011

Riley, B., Harvey, J., Di Ruggiero, E., & Potvin, L. (2015). Building the field of population health intervention research: The development and use of an initial set of competencies. Preventive Medicine Reports, 2, 854–857. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.pmedr.2015.09.017

Le programme UNISSAHEL s'inscrit dans une démarche de recherche interventionnelle en santé des populations (RISP). Cette perspective est particulièrement conceptualisé dans la recherche anglo-saxonne et nord-américaine mais beaucoup moins en France et en Afrique de l'Ouest.  Ce type de recherche consiste à produire des connaissances sur les interventions et les politiques de santé.

Elle est parfois considérée comme un changement de paradigme dans la mesure où elle permettrait de "chercher des solutions" plutôt que se centrer sur les problèmes, qui sont déjà souvent connus.

Il s'agit de comprendre de quelles manières intervenir : quelles interventions choisir mais également comment les mettre en oeuvre, tout en considérant de façon constante les questions des inégalités. 

La recherche interventionnelle en santé des populations est différente de la recherche action, de l'évaluation et de la recherche interventionnelle en recherche clinique même si certains points communs sont existants. 

Ce type de recherche a des spécificités, notamment lorsque le travail se fait en partenariat entre plusieurs nationalités, plusieurs secteurs et plusieurs disciplines. Elle implique également une vision systémique des problèmes de santé publique et met l'accent sur les déterminants sociaux de la santé. Ci-dessous, une brève présentation d'une revue de littérature réalisée pour cerner la définition et les caractéristiques de la RISP.

Le réflexivité, une des spécificités de la RISP. Dans les partenariats Nord-Sud, elle invite à une remise en cause des façons de faire et de penser.

Pour mieux comprendre ce que la RISP recouvre : Louise Potvin (Université de Montréal) a réalisé une présentation lors d'un atelier à l'école des hautes études en santé publique.

 

Présentation disponible sur: https://www.ehesp.fr/wp-content/uploads/2011/02/RISP-_-DGS-Paris-12-122.pdf 

Transfert de connaissances

 

Le transfert de connaissances peut-être définie comme "l'ensemble des efforts consentis pour contribuer à faire connaître et reconnaître les activités et les résultats de recherche en sciences sociales et humaines, en arts et en lettre en vue de leur utilisation par les milieux de pratiques, les décideurs et le grand public, que la démarche soit interactive ou non" (FQRSC, 2011).

 

Cette préoccupation vient du constat que malgré un nombre de plus en plus important de connaissances produites pour améliorer la santé des populations, elles ne sont que rarement utilisées pour mettre en oeuvre des interventions efficaces et pertinentes. Il existe plusieurs types de connaissances : les connaissances dites explicites qui sont des connaissances issues de la recherche, des évaluations, des données administratives et qui peuvent être formalisées et transmises, et les connaissances dites tacites qui sont des connaissances issues de l'expérience et donc moins facile à diffuser. 

Lorsqu'on parle d'utilisation, il est important d'en distinguer trois types : 1) L'utilisation conceptuelle qui mène à une nouvelle compréhension d'une situation ou de faits, 2) L'utilisation instrumentale menant à la prise de décision ou d'action, 3) L'utilisation persuasive qui est l'utilisation des connaissances comme arguments pour soutenir des lois ou des décisions. 

Pour aller plus loin sur ce sujet, retrouvez les vidéos de l'équipe RENARD, spécialisé dans la recherche sur le transfert de connaissances 

 

Suivez-nous

  • Twitter
  • YouTube